the life of bryan

"...el duderino, if you're not into the whole brevity thing"

...el duderino, if you're not into the whole brevity thing...

I am a sucker. Truly. Stop me on the street, and ask me for a buck, and it’s yours. Are you gonna use it to buy a beer, save it up to buy some lunch, or of-course maybe you need it to get some gas for your car so that you can drive your family back to Kansas City, ’cause you drove all the way to Little Rock to see your mom who just got out of the hospital, and now you are out of gas, and the car is just down the road a few blocks, for real… It doesn’t matter to me. We’ve all got different needs for survival, and it’s not my job to judge which needs are worthy. If you need it, and I’ve got it… I’m gonna share.

However, tonight I was reminded of a need that is worthy. When people die because they cannot get to fresh water, or treatment for malaria… i really have no words for that. It’s just not right. Tonight, while I was making dinner and my daughter was watching american idol, this commercial came on:

It stopped me in my tracks, and gave me chills. Not because it is a powerful spot, (yet, I believe that it is) but because I had forgotten all about it, even though it had moved me so much during Live8.

www.one.org is a big deal. It matters to me, and because it moves me, I think that it would be wrong for me to not say so. Enough talk, time to act. I signed up with one.org tonight… right after my daughter, who is a bigger sucker than me, gave me money from her allowance to send to www.idolaid.com so that five kids could get medicine to save their lives from Malaria.

I’m out of words now.

5 responses to “the life of bryan

  1. Pingback: can’t buy me love « whole brevity thing·

  2. Pingback: hope flows « whole brevity thing·

Comments are closed.