the legend of baggy pants

The dude’s golfing prowess was again on display, today. My father-in-law was kind enough to let me whack away until the ball landed in the cup on each and every hole. That’s significant, because in the past, he’d say, “that’s enough for this hole, why don’t you pick it up, and we’ll try again from the next tee.”

But the course wasn’t so crowded, so there was time for me to discover new forms of fauna in the Florida wilderness while seeking yet another shanked Titleist. I am not lying when I tell you that a greenskeeper actually tracked me down after one foray into a bog to warn me about the pygmy rattlesnakes. “So, do they give you any warning?” I asked. “Not unless you consider a strike a warning.” I saw his point.

All in all, it was a great round… I finished 6 over. To be clear, that means I finised the day with 6 more balls than I started with.

One more thing. Before we left for the course, my littlest dude asked me why I had to go play golf. “I GET to go play golf, Will. Its a good thing, and one day, you’ll join me and Poppy while we play”, I reassured him. His response was instantaneous, “yeah, but by then Poppy will almost be dead.”

I’m out of words now…

2 responses to “the legend of baggy pants

Comments are closed.