dooce almighty

42K comments on a single blog post begs attention. In the world where I work, it demands attention. So, the extraawesome Dooce broke through to my adfeed.extraawesome.com last week. Adfeed is a library of interesting advertising news stories/observations that I’ve bookmarked as I’ve wandered the world-wide-interweb. Dooce’s comment overload was definitely interesting.

My wife has been a Dooce fan for a year now. Her connection with Dooce and her writing style was pretty immediate. Dooce makes Sarabeth laugh, and if you know SB, then you know that her laughter is whole-hearted and infectious, so even though I hadn’t ever read her work, I’ve enjoyed Dooce a ton.

The reason so many folks were interested in commenting and commenting again.. and again… and again… on this one blog post: a Wii and Wii Fit give away. The kind folks at Nintendo recognized the persuasive influence earned by Dooce, so they found a way to work with her, and produce a huge benefit for them both. Dooce gave away five sets of this entertainment glory, and to be eligible all one had to do was leave a comment… or 20. There was no comment limit, just a time limit of roughly 48 hours. At that time Dooce’s mom picked 5 numbers between 1 and 42,232, producing 5 very happy, wii fit owning, Dooce fans.

Interesting, don’t you think? Newsworthy? I thought so, too. It also made me want to give away something, just for fun, via wholebrevitything.com. Logically, my thoughts went to lawn care. Alas, there is only so much dehydration a person can pack into a weekend. So, looking for a more climate controlled option (to be read, “sitting on the couch in my air conditioned den”) I’ve decided to give away a blog.

My give away will work like this: Leave a comment here on this post beteen the time of its publication and Sunday 6 p.m. cental time and you will be eligible to win a WordPress blog produced by me. So that we can stay legal, there will be no financial value placed with give-away, just one dude helping out another dude with a blog, perhaps your own domain name and some coaching/customization, that’s all I’m sayin’. Sweet Sarabeth will draw a number out of a hat, and we’ll post the winner here on wholebrevitything.com Sunday evening.

Oh, and just for kicks, all comments need to contain a movie quote to be eligible for the drawing.

I’m out of words now…

11 responses to “dooce almighty

  1. I could quote The Big Lebowski until the cows come home but, OK, here’s one for you…..”Why, oh why, didn’t I take the blue pill?”

Comments are closed.