matchstick man

Teaching college kids how to use the internet is like teaching a fat boy how to eat a donut. That is exactly the situation I was in back in April when I guest lectured to Advertising students at the University of Arkansas. Technicaly, I wasn’t really introducing them to The Google and Spacebook, it was more of a discussion about how Advertising has been openned up to new avenues for creative expression.

Unfortunately, I was off of my pay attention support program that day, so we packed about 60 minutes of logical thought into a 30 minute pinball ride through the intenets, followed by 20 minutes of Q&A to unravel the mess that I had just created. It wasn’t that I was unprepared, the bumper car presentation was born out of my commitment to not stand up at a podium for an hour of PowerPoint Karaoke.

Looking back, I so wish I had presented via PowerPoint Karaoke… this kind of PowerPoint Karaoke. It seems that the wacky folks in Germany have come up with a brand new bar game. It works like this: download some random PowerPoint slides from the web, then find a few bold souls to stand up and enthusiastically deliver the presentation of their life… all from a deck of slides that they’ve never seen before.

Or maybe I should have just given an Interesting presentation. Interesting2008 took place in London a month ago, and I am fascinated by the idea: gather as many interesting people as you can from a wide variety of interests/fields and have them spend 3 or 20 minutes telling the world all about something that is very interesting to them. Here is a link to Roo Reynolds presentation (slideshare here) I love it..

ReadWriteWeb has more about geek efforts to Make Public Presentations Fun Again.

Time for me to work on my presentation about my love for donuts.

I’m out of words now…

One response to “matchstick man

  1. >gather as many interesting people as you can from a wide variety of interests/fields and have them spend 3 or 20 minutes telling the world all about something that is very interesting to them.

    For years I’ve read and posted over at the Straight Dope Message Boards. Same sort of deal only on-line, fascinating (and educational) reading in General Questions and Great Debates. Enjoy. http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/

    Also, I like burning things.

Comments are closed.