airplane!

I call it,

“carpooling with 150 of my closest friends.”

For the past few months I’ve been working in Dallas about once a week. Run through the Little Rock airport security at 5:30 AM. Return landing at the Little Rock gate around 6:00 PM. It’s a pretty short and sweet trip, and I’ve always been a fan of Big D, so I’m lovin’ it.

There is one part of the trip that always nags me. The loud speaker clicks on, and the familiar refrain of “…at this time please turn off all electronic devices…” Look, I’ve seen the Mythbusters episode – I know that it really doesn’t make any difference – but, still,  I oblige. And during that 15 minute window climbing to 10,000′ I indulge myself with the glorious nonsense that is SkyMall. …

I had no idea there were so many things that I didn’t know that I didn’t need. The existence of SkyMall can only be attributed to the fact that there are people in this world who have already bought everything else. When Wade and I fly together, we like to play: “Find the most pointless product.”

So that you can share in our amazement, here are a few of the offerings from this month’s issue of SkyMall:


NECKpro Traction Device


Finger Drums


Edge Baking Pan

And here is August’s Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner:


Pet Observation Dome

I’m out of words now…

5 responses to “airplane!

  1. i wish i had the finger drums to play with my finger sax. my desk would be that much cooler.

  2. My wife and I just returned from Nicaragua on Sunday so in the past two weeks I’ve looked through SkyMall about 4 times. :)

    I, too, was rolling my eyes at the pet observation dome. Too funny!

    There’s something mystical about SkyMall that draws me in every time I fly. What’s in there? Do they have something new and amazing that I might need? Guess I better look (again).

  3. Pingback: castaway « whole brevity thing·

  4. Pingback: up in the air « whole brevity thing·

Comments are closed.