the fringe connection

Photo Credit - Joel

Photo Credit - some dude named Joel

Mecca. Shangri-La. Heaven. Call it what you will, Austin, TX is a very special place. There’s this vibe to Austin that is unlike any other place. I was raised an hour down the road from Austin in San Antonio, and this urbanized hippie hollow has always been special to me.

A couple of days ago, I found myself back in the holy land for few hours. This was a work trip, but c’mon, I couldn’t pass up a chance to slip into Waterloo Records (Quick visual – think High Fidelity with a little more heart) for an hour or so. Sweet Providence, there was vinyl everywhere, an entire wall dedicated to Texas Brewed music and I even found a limited edition 10th Anniversary Big Lebowski DVD Set. Life was good.

Reconnecting with my musical roots reminded me that I’ve been meaning to post a mixtape of the tracks that I’ve been living with all summer long. I know that the folks in my office are ready for me to move on to some different music, but, I go back to this playlist at least every other day.

Whole Brevity Thing - Summer 2008 Mixtape

Whole Brevity Thing - Summer 2008 Mixtape

You can download the entire mix here. [ZIP]

  1. When Water Comes To Life / Cloud Cult
  2. White Winter Hymnal (Black Dominoes remix) / Fleet Foxes
  3. A-Punk / Vampire Weekend
  4. Fools / The Dodos
  5. Bag Of Hammers / Thao [MP3]
  6. Lolita / Throw Me The Statue
  7. Like It Or Not (Version 2) / Architecture In Helsinki
  8. Pork and Beans / Weezer
  9. I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance With You / Black Kids [MP3]
  10. Crawl / Kings Of Leon
  11. Them Kids / Sam Roberts
  12. Right Hand On My Heart / The Whigs
  13. In A Cave / Tokyo Police Club
  14. Great DJ / The Ting Tings
  15. Death To Los Campesinos! / Los Campesinos!
  16. The Good Old Days / The Lodger
  17. 5 Years Time / Noah And The Whale
  18. Tonight I Have to Leave It / Shout Out Louds
  19. Abandon / French Kicks
  20. Black Fur / Fredrik
  21. Heretics (Early Version) / Andrew Bird [MP3]
  22. First Sight / These United States
  23. Sunshine / Paul Westerberg

Merry End of Summer!

I’m out of words now…

4 responses to “the fringe connection

  1. My wife and I were in Austin this time last year for the Austin City Limits festival. It was a great time. It was our second time out there – we got engaged along the river there in 2006.

    http://snurl.com/3t3ai

    Unfortunately, I haven’t made it to Waterloo yet. But hopefully we can do up another trip out there soon. Fun city.

Comments are closed.