the santa cause

I’m a big fan of holiday music. It makes me happy. I enjoy finding fresh tunes, but mostly, I enjoy the classics: Dean Martin’s Making Spirits Bright, George Winston’s December and Verve’s Very Best of Christmas Jazz are highly recommended. As much as I like the tunes of Festivus, I do love to make mixtapes, perhaps holiday mixtapes most of all. Well, only one week remains until Christmas arrives, so I couldn’t put it off any longer. Here is the Whole Brevity Thing Christmas Mix for 2008. Actually because there was too much goodness to share, it would have been a mess if I put it all together into one mix.

Merry Christmas from The Dude

Merry Christmas from The Dude

So, two mixes were born.  …

Whole Brevity Thing - LudaChristmas

Whole Brevity Thing - LudaChristmas

[download the mix]

1. Santa Claus And His Old Lady / Cheech & Chong
2. I Don’t Have A Christmas Tree / Mark Mothersbaugh
3. (Baby It’s) So Cold / The Apples In Stereo
4. Come On! Let’s Boogie to the Elf Dance! / Sufjan Stevens
5. Don’t Shoot Me Santa / The Killers
6. Don’t Believe In Christmas / Pearl Jam
7. All I Want For Christmas Is You / Heike Has The Giggles
8. everything’s gonna be cool this christmas / Eels
9. Lonely Holiday / Old 97’s
10. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) / Death Cab For Cutie
11. Do They Know It’s Christmas / Pete Yorn
12. Winter Wonderland / Liz Phair
13. Sleigh Ride / The Late Greats
14. Feliz Navidad / El Vez
15. Donde Esta Santa Claus / Guster
16. Christmas / Blues Traveler
17. When I Get Home for Christmas / Snow Patrol
18. Christmas With Jesus / Josh Rouse
19. Cold White Christmas / Casiotone for the Painfully Alone
20. If You Were Born Today / Jimmy Eat World
21. Christmas Time (Is Here Again) / The Beatles
22. Twelve Days of Christmas / Bob and Doug McKenzie

Whole Brevity Thing AcoustiChristmas

Whole Brevity Thing AcoustiChristmas

[download the mix]

1. Season’s Greetings / SNL
2. Someday At Christmas / Jack Johnson
3. Silent Night / Ween
4. Christmas Music / Daniel Johnson
5. Everything’s Gonna Be Cool This Christmas (live) / Eels
6. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town / Mason Jennings
7. Christmas is Coming Soon / Blitzen Trapper
8. Yeah, I Know, It’s Christmastime / Andrew Dost (Anathallo)
9. Valley Winter Song / Fountains of Wayne
10. All That I Want / The Weepies
11. Snow Day / matt pond PA
12. Winter In The Hamptons / Josh Rouse
13. 25th December / Everything But The Girl
14. Listening To Otis Redding At Home During Christmas / Okkervil River
15. All I Ever Get For Christmas Is Blue / Over The Rhine
16. Winter / Joshua Radin
17. Joy To The World / Clem Snide
18. Come On Ring Those Bells / Phantasmic Feat. Tess Wiley
19. The Holidays Are Here (and we’re still at war) / Brett Dennen
20. It’s Christmas! Let’s Be Glad / Sufjan Stevens
21. Winter Wonderland / Jason Mraz
22. You’re A Mean One Mr Grinch / Sixpence None The Richer
23. All I Want for Christmas Is You / Teddy Geiger
24. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas / Coldplay
25. Happy Christmas (War Is Over) / Maroon 5
26. Paper Sleighs / M.I.A.

I hope you dig the tunes, and I hope that you have a wonderful holiday full of family and friends. Merry Ho Ho Ho!

I’m out of words now…

2 responses to “the santa cause

Comments are closed.