saving silverman vol.46

Nick Drake

Nick Drake

Your reaction to the discovery of Nick Drake’s music may have been different than mine. I had always been a music lover, but this was different music. This music was organic, and it was real. The words that he sang were his words. The music that he played was written by his hand. Not only that, but the music was delivered bare – stripped of production – without gimmicks and layers to hide behind. This music was what I needed to wash away the taste of Lita Ford and Vanilla Ice.

I found Nick Drake through a David Wilcox bootleg tape that had been passed around my college campus. At the end of a trip to see Wilcox perform live, I walked up to the stage following his show and talked to him as he packed away his gear. I didn’t want to be a fanboy that gushed about how wonderful his performance had been (and it was incredible) so I asked him about Nick. I wasn’t just trying to be cool, I really wanted to know who Nick Drake was. This was B.G. (Before Google) and the answer to every question wasn’t available at your fingertips.

Wilcox’s eyes lit up when he answered, “Nick Drake was an amazing musician. He was a dreamer living in a world that didn’t have room for dreamers. He was run over by the train that he couldn’t stop.”

Beck covers Which Will originally recorded by Nick Drake.

I’m out of words now…

(not-so-hidden easter egg)

2 responses to “saving silverman vol.46

  1. I the story of how someone discovers new music. Yours made me smile just because it had a big enough impact to get written about.

    I’ll just add one quick bit about Nick Drake.

    For me, it was the strings arrangements that sucked me in. His voice and songwriting yes, but I heard those strings and said ‘now THAT is how you use a string section’. Blew me away.

    That’s all :)

Comments are closed.