robo(h)op

I love the Internets, I find a lot of really interesting things here. When that happens, sometimes I Tweet about it, sometimes I archive it on #ExtraAwesome, and sometimes it needs some more appreciation, so it get’s blogged about. From the cobwebs around this joint, you’d think that hasn’t happened in a while so lets see if we can change that. Here’s a quick snapshot of a couple of my current favorites.

Instagram.com

People of the Internet, I love Instagram real hard. The proof is hard to deny – I posted 1,285 photos in 2011. It’s just so easy to grab a moment of your life and share it with friends, and just for kicks, you can add a little faux depth of field or funky color style to the shot as well. On top of that, the app has very little feature-bloat, and a brilliant connection to Foursquare’s location database, so you can tie the photo and place together for posterity.

As for now, the app is only available on the iPhone, but that won’t be the case for long. I seriously doubt this is the first time you’ve hear someone wax on about Instagram, but I’ve fallen deeper in love with the app due to my new best friend, Timehop.

Timehop.com

At some point early last year, I signed up for Foursquare & 7 Years Ago a service that would send you a daily email listing all of the places you checked-in on the same day a year before. The idea was kind of fun, and I enjoyed getting the daily flashbacks. The service has since changed it’s name to Timehop, and included connections to Facebook and Instagram profiles. The Instagram integration has blown me away, no longer do I occasionally open Timehop emails, I ALWAYS open their messages.

Instagram lets you capture a moment on (digital) film, Foursquare drops the pin in the map, Timehop gives both of those of those items exponential value through daily reminders of friends and memories. To see what I mean, take a look at what Timehop reminded me about in my morning email. Here is my version of January 31, 2011:

#Appforum11 presentation with Paul Strack and Amy Bradley-Hole

Who doesn't love decision trees? #Appforum11 presentation with Paul Strack and Amy Bradley-Hole

A year ago, Sarabeth and I were in Las Vegas with Paul Strack and Amy Bradley-Hole to give a presentation about the little that we know about helping businesses serve customers through social channels. The opportunity to share a few learned lessons was awesome, and so was the rest of the day. Let’s continue with the timehop, shall we?

Dinner at Mon Ami Gabi

We had a wonderful dinner at Mon Ami Gabi. Allow me to introduce you to the Tequila Smash.

Dinner at Mon Ami Gabi

We ate on Mon Ami Gabi's patio, under flames to knock off the chill.

Fountains

Mon Gabi Ami's patio looks out on the Fountains of Bellagio. Musical Theatre #VegasBaby

The Beatles - Love

After dinner, we headed back to our hotel for Cirque Du Soleil's The Beatles Love

Cirque Du Soleil Love

Photos were not aloud inside the theater....so this is the best I could do.

Sarabeth and Amy

The show was incredible. Sarabeth and Amy post-Love, on the floor....

Love Entrance

...under the colors of the queen, taking pictures of the ceiling, of course.

Bryan and Sarabeth Jones

Joneses #VegasBaby

Amazing people, opportunities, food and shows. A really great day from a year ago that I got to relive this morning. I really like this future.

I’m out of words now…

